Meaning Shiva Nataraja

Shiva is a god from Hinduism and because Hinduism and Buddhism are closely intertwined, you will also encounter Shiva in Buddhism. Shiva is the god who represents the creator and, at the same time, destruction.


mini buddha_shiva_standing_11Shiva represents pure consciousness and Shakti. Shakti is his consort with whom he is united, she represents energy and creative urge. Shiva takes care of the pure consciousness and therefore settles in the 7th chakra, the consciousness center of the unity. Shakti his companion investigates, she moves along all chakras. In the 6th chakra she creates discrimination and insight, in the 5th chakra purification and detachment, in the 4th chakra harmony and love, in the 3rd chakra individuality and willpower, in the 2nd chakra she creates zest for life and in the 1st chakra she creates survival power and stability. Now that she has gone through everything she transforms into the form of a snake, Kundalini the snake fire, which is the symbol of the ascending energy. When this energy rises and flows up the chakras again, Shakti reunites with Shiva, unity is restored, only now she has become wiser through the awareness of all these areas of life.
With each union of these two forces, the universe is created anew.

Shiva the god of destruction and creation

Despite the fact that Shiva is the god of destruction and creation, he also stands for well-being, which is referred to as the most important among the meanings about Shiva. Also among the meanings of Shiva it says that he stands for supreme knowledge or knowledge of the highest being, another meaning associated with Shiva is that of Sadashiva, a person who lived more than 7000 years ago. Sada stands for ever and Shiva for well-being, to translate it freely: “One whose sole mission is to promote the general well-being of all beings.”

Also an image with this beautiful meaning? Shop them here

Directly available
Directly available

Gods from Hinduism

Together with the god Vishnu, Shiva is one of the most important gods in Hinduism in daily life. Together with Brahma they form a trinity. Brahma is the first of the Hindu trinity and is the creator of the universe. He has four heads that all face different directions, usually standing or sitting in a lotus flower, but occasionally he is depicted riding swans. Brahma's wife is Saraswati, the goddess of arts and education.
The second god of the Hindu trinity is Vishnu, he is the protector of the universe. In images you often see him depicted on an eagle or sleeping on a giant snake. He too has a wife and she is Lakshimi, the goddess of beauty and wealth.
Shiva is the third of the Hindu trinity, as mentioned earlier, he is the destroyer of evil in the universe, the trident with which he is often depicted symbolizes destruction. Shiva has the third eye of knowledge on his forehead and rides a large bull named Nandi. Shiva is said to have had several wives, the most important being Parvati. Together with her he gave birth to two sons, Ganesha and Skanda. Parvati represents Marriage and is the faithful wife of Shiva, together they symbolize the power to create and destroy.

More free information? Subscribe to our spam-free newsletter


Shiva Nataraja is well known to most people, it is an image and is also often painted on canvases and used as murals. The statue bears the name Nataraja, which means 'the king of dance in Barathanatyam'. Shiva Nataraja is a depiction of the god Shiva as cosmic dancer Kootan, who in a circle of fire on the dwarf of ignorance Apasmara, performs his divine dance to destroy a weary universe and prepare for god Brahma to complete the process of creation to start.

We have beautiful images of Shiva and Shiva nataraja, take a look here.